December 6, 2005

Four

Posted in Uncategorized at 8:50 pm by ivan42

It’s a weird thing not waking up to the sounds of sirens and the honking of cars. Today was different. Today I was able to relax and lay in bed day-dreaming to the soothing sounds of the south pacific.
Waves hitting rocks and sand in an endless loop, and miles of water stretching out forever.

Sea gulls account for 50% of documented aircraft-bird strikes, they lay three to four eggs and their incubation period is nineteen to twenty-two days. They feed on fish, crabs, shrimp, aerial insects and garbage. They foul residential and commercial buildings and public areas with their smelly shit. They’re considered pests. They also make a sound you can’t help associating with the sea. This is what I hear.

The place I’m in reminds me of a movie I saw a long time ago. I can’t remember the name or what it’s about, so we can overlook that.
Click.
Shit.
Click… and that empty sound of nothing that comes out of speakers when the sound stops. It’s over. 18 un-interrumpted hours of water, waves and sand. And the honking begins.
Everything comes back to focus and the warmth and light from the beach drift away. It’s cold, my knee will begin to hurt in a few seconds. I sit up on the bed and look down at a tiny scar I have on my right knee. It’s hardly visible anymore, but the pain seems to get stronger every year.
I live in the 20th floor of what Jack would call a filing cabinet for widows and young professionals.
I hardly even realized I lit a cigarrette until I felt my fingers were burning.

The way you make waffles is you press TIME then 2:30, then START. The way you make coffee is you put water in a cup, add two tablespoons of powdered coffee, press TIME, then 2:00, then START. I would hate being amish.
Breakfast is over when it’s time for it to be over and a logical stream of consequential actions begins. First comes the shower. Then the clothes. I used to take up almost twenty minutes choosing what shirt to wear with which pants and what socks and so on. Now I usually don’t even bother looking for anything, I just take whatever’s on the top of the drawer. I don’t have to worry about that anymore, other people choose my clothes for me.

Leave a comment